Archive for the 'databases' Category

Women’s Studies Quarterly: New on Project MUSE®

November 3, 2009

Project MUSE® has recently acquired the journal, WSQ: Women’s Studies Quarterly.  This is a peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal on women, gender and sexuality.  Each thematic issue is guest edited and combines contemporary developments in feminist theory and scholarship with essays, poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction and the visual arts.  Back issues are available from Spring/Summer 2008.
See the ‘Table [...]

New E-books Online

October 14, 2009

The following E-books are now available on the Dawsonera E-book database:
Price, F. – Revolutions in Taste, 1773-1818
Whitworth, M.H. – Virginia Woolf (Authors in Context series)
Dolin, T. – George Eliot (Authors in Context series)
Ingham, P. – The Brontes (Authors in Context series)
Thomas, K. – Changing conceptions of National Biography: the Oxford DNB and historical perspective
Fisher, B.F. [...]

Access to Electronic Resources

October 8, 2009

Enquiries to the Library HelpDesk are showing that students are having problems accessing our Electronic Resources following the introduction of Shibboleth, the new authentication system. Please use the Login Help Sheet links under each of the relevant databases on the Electronic Resources page in Portia. Printed copies of these sheets are also available in the [...]

JSTOR Training

September 28, 2009

Do you want to improve your search results from JSTOR?
For a brief overview of searching JSTOR then try this link: Searching JSTOR
For more comprehensive training materials go to this link JSTOR where you can find recorded webinars (online classes) and power point presentations.  Whether you are a recent or experienced user you’re bound to learn something [...]

Oxford Reference Online

April 24, 2009

Did you know that the Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection is regularly updated. Recent updates of interest to English students would be the addition of:
The Oxford Guide to Literary Britain 3rd ed., and
Pocket Fowler’s Modern English Usage 2nd ed.
In all, this database has 19 authoritative reference books on Literature alone, including:
The Oxford Companion to English [...]

17th & 18th Century Burney Collection

March 17, 2009

We now have full-text access to the Burney Collection of newspapers and news pamphlets collected by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) which represents the largest single collection of 17th & 18th Century English news media. With over a million newspaper pages this is a valuable addition to the Library’s Electronic Resources. 

Access to the database is through [...]

Did you know…?

March 5, 2009

Did you know that Project MUSE® has over 130 full-text journals in Literature.  See the literature list here or click here for the complete journal listings. Project MUSE®  can be accessed in the usual way from Portia.  If you have any trouble linking to the full-text off campus, then have a word with the English Subject Librarian.

Shakespeare on Film, Television and Radio

February 25, 2009

The British Universities Film & Video Council has created the International Database of Shakespeare on Film, Television and Radio. With over 6,500 titles the database gathers together a wide selection of media related material on Shakespeare, detailing full cast and credits, release date, recording and broadcast information.  Where possible more detailed information such as major articles, [...]

New Journal on Project MUSE®

January 12, 2009

Project MUSE® has recently acquired Bookbird: A Journal of International Children’s Literature.  This journal is published by the International Board on Books for Young People.  Take a look at the Tables of Contents for the 2008 issues.
Vol. 46, No. 3, 2008
Vol. 46, No. 2, 2008
Vol. 46, No. 1, 2008
Access to the full text is available [...]

The Cabinet Papers, 1915-1977

December 8, 2008

The Cabinet Papers, 1915-1977 is a brand new database from The National Archives which includes over half a million pages of Cabinet papers covering a 60 year period of the 20th century from the First World War to the welfare state.  The database provides a unique insight into the decision-making of the time and the searches and [...]